Previous topic - Next topic

thebigbang

The next big thing

My Morning Jacket is the answer to the question

By JEFF MIERS
News Pop Music Critic
9/12/2003
http://www.buffalonews.com/editorial/20030912/1049996.asp

My Morning Jacket has released an absolute masterwork in the form of "It Still Moves," a record that doesn't so much capture the zeitgeist as suggest that there is a whole other one we've been missing.

SOUND/QUOTE
One of the coolest things about what I do for a living is meeting people almost every day who share an enthusiasm for music. At concerts, in clubs . . . even when I take my son to Chuck E. Cheese, eager music fans will introduce themselves and wax poetic about some artist, some album, some show that changed their lives, one that "you've absolutely gotta check out!"
Invariably, after sharing their current passion, these folks will ask me what I've been listening to, what's caught my ear, "Who's the band I should be watching right now, and what records must I buy immediately?"

I take these questions extremely seriously - more seriously, perhaps, than would a normal, adjusted member of society, who might quite reasonably file all of this stuff under the "for entertainment only" heading and get on with the business at hand (paying the bills, watching the game, playing golf, etc.). For those of us for whom music is so much more than that, so much closer to the weightiest element in the very ether that surrounds us, this information is as serious as politics and infinitely more entertaining.