the Teacher thread!

Started by aMD, Oct 06, 2007, 08:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

aMD

In your classroom you were teaching... that was you...

I know there are many teachers on the board.  This is our thread to share stories, complaints, joys, news, and all matters as they relate to teaching.

I teach third grade, what about you?

mjkoehler

I was a teacher for a short time. Big mistake for me. Most kids in High School do not care for History, know matter how creative you make it. I left and never went back as I couldn't take the bad attitude from the kids (it was REALLY bad). Looking back, I should have focused on Elementary Ed instead of Secondary. I would have found that much more rewarding.

I have the utmost respect for teachers and just wish they were better taken care of (more respect and better pay). It's just sad that someone like an executive at a company who's primary job is to schmooze and to say yes or no to other peoples work gets paid millions while someone who is educating and shaping their kids future isn't paid that great.

crazylove

Great thread, Dylan!

I have a joyful story to share.  

And by the way, all, I love my high school students.  Sure there are those who don't give a crap, but there are those who really do want to learn and those who struggle but give it their best.  That's what keeps me going.
(Plus all the stories you get to hear, some you want to hear and some,  not so much!)

Our High School started a Best Buddies chapter last year.  It really didn't do so well.  We had a total of 18 kids involved, 6 Buddy pairs.  I was one of 4 faculty advisor's.
This year I decided I would give it my all.  We got a great kid in as President, and started planning.