My Dad  R.I.P.

Started by Taterbug, Sep 09, 2008, 12:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Taterbug

My dad was diagnosed with cancer in his pancreas, liver and colon 3 weeks ago at the young age of 62.  They gave him 6 months. He passed away on labor day. He was sent home 3 days prior to his death and we were  all by his side when he passed away.

I started writing him a letter in my head the day after his surgery 3 weeks ago. I am not very good at expressing my feelings face to face so I thought a letter would be a good way to do that. When he was sent home on the friday before labor day I gave him the letter to read. His eyesight had started to fail. He asked me to read him the letter.  So I did,  I  got thru it with only a few emotional moments.
He was able to respond to the letter and tell me how proud he was of me  :) .  The letter I wrote was givin to the pastor to read at his funeral service. Below is the letter.

Dear Dad,  
                  I wanted to write you a letter because I'm better at conveying my thoughts on paper.  I started to write this letter in my head the day I left you after your surgery.  I would like to start off by thanking you for being there for me when I needed some advice or a good laugh or to tell you some juicy gossip about Jay.  You always know the right words to say to make me feel better.