Music And Kids And Learning

Started by KY_Kid, Feb 06, 2009, 09:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jones

I do not come from a musical family and did not start learning guitar until the age of 15 (self-taught and proud of it!).  Now I have kids myself and a room full of instruments for my kids to tinker with... My two year old loves to peck on the piano and has now been given full-time access to a harmonica (she plays it non-stop).  When she is a few years older I will offer to teach her guitar...

So..... Who plays an instrument?  What instrument?  When did you start?  Do/did your parents play?  Did they teach you?  Are you self-taught?  Classically trained?  Let's hear your story...

goose

Self taught on guitar(With help from friends); played sax in elementary and middle school.  I am trying to find a used one at the right price now, but they are really expensive still used.
Hooked on four like one, two, three

mjkoehler

Self taught with some help of a friend. Picked up the axe 3 years ago and the ripe age of 33. Only other musical talent was trombone playing in Jr High. Yes, I was a tromboner.

My son has shown some aptitube while messing around on my guitar. I tried to teach him the basic chords but I do not have the patience or the real knowledge to do so. He will be getting real lessons.

ALady

Piano from age 5, violin from 9, dabbled in flute and french horn in junior high and high school.  Guitar as of last year and uke as of...Christmas.   ;D

The earlier you can get your kids playing, the better - their minds are like little sponges.  And I strongly believe there's a connection between musical training and academic success.  Plus, it's fun   :)
if it falls apart or makes us millionaires

aMillionDreams