Musical highs and lows

Started by el_chode, Mar 29, 2009, 12:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jaimoe

QuoteI think grunge hit everyone, especially younger people, because the 80s sucked ass and grunge was something totally different, something primal and honest, unlike what was around during pre-grunge: depressing whimp-pop from Britain, aging supergroups and bloated metal.

I think this is the type of generalization that I have been trying to avoid though I'm sure I'm often guilty of it myself.  I graduated high school in '96 and grew up during the so called "Seattle Movement."  What is grunge?  Is it a type of rock 'n roll?  I don't think many of the bands from that era sound alike.  Ahh but I digress.  What I was going to say was that I never personally enjoyed Nevermind or Ten.  I think they are OK but in my opinion and that's it.  I was busy listening to Jimi, Floyd, Rush, Tribe Called Quest, Bad Religion etc.

I was forced to cover too many Nirvana and Pearl Jam songs in the bands I played in and I hated it.  I guess my point is that there is someone who actually doesn't like PJ and NIrvana that much :)

I don't want to write an essay about my perceived generalizations, but I think grunge was partly born as a reaction to the 80s music scenes. Perhaps not as political or angry as punk's creation in the 70s, but I still think the core of the grunge movement was reactionary and also driven by a great deal of angst.

el_chode

QuoteI think grunge hit everyone, especially younger people, because the 80s sucked ass and grunge was something totally different, something primal and honest, unlike what was around during pre-grunge: depressing whimp-pop from Britain, aging supergroups and bloated metal.