Rolling Stone 100 Albums of the Decade

Started by murph468, Dec 09, 2009, 02:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Janet

I have very little knowledge of her guitar playing.  I wasn't even really questioning her being on the list.  Her placement at 17 (guitarists of all times!!!) was what shocked me.

mjkoehler

Was that the same list that had Kurt Cobain as one of the top 5 or 10 guitarist ever? Really?

mjkoehler

QuoteMost of the list and order of rankings made me simmer in slow-boil anger. The top 10 gets posted tomorrow, but Elephant is #19. C'mon. It's a Top 5 or even #1.
Agreed.

Jaimoe

QuoteI have very little knowledge of her guitar playing.  I wasn't even really questioning her being on the list.  Her placement at 17 (guitarists of all times!!!) was what shocked me.

There's tokenism in there for sure. I'm old enough to know that Joan was very influential and popular when she left The Runaways. I haven't seen the list, but if Sister Rosetta Tharpe isn't on it, then it isn't a real list: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JeaBNAXfHfQ

mjkoehler

What an awful list. Not only do they have the average Only By The Night KOL album on there, but do we need THAT much f'n Kayne and MIA? I.Don't.Get.It.

Jaimoe

The newest M.I.A. album is really good.

capt. scotty

Quote2 Springsteen albums in the Top 20
M.I.A. has 2 on the list, 1 in the Top 10
;D

I still dont get the love at all for Is This It?

I too share the sentiment that once I saw RTCM at #98, I wasnt going to be impressed.

Surprising thing is, if you look at the artists they had vote for this list, its pretty respectable. One Jim James was one of the voters. Id be cool to see his personal list.

...that said, their song list is a little more in line with what Id have at the top than pitchfork's with 1,2, and 3 for me being Seven Nation Army, Hey Ya, and Crazy