Main Menu

John Frusciante

Started by Rob, Jan 26, 2009, 09:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rob

Does anyone get into his solo stuff?

I'm new to his music, but I just bought the new one, The Empyrean, and really love it. Comes out tomorrow, but my local indie shop had it out today. The CD sounds awesome by the way......no compression......you can actually utilize your volume knob!

Cool album......I can imagine playing this for years to come. He even does a cover of Song To The Siren that's really good.
"demon eyes are watchin' everywhere"

dragonboy

I have his debut Niandra Lades and Usually Just a T-Shirt & Shadows Collide with People, don't listen to either of them much though...

EDIT: the new track Unreachable on his myspace page is pretty cool!
God will forgive them. He'll forgive them and allow them into Heaven.....I can't live with that.

Taxman

Yeah, his new album is great, especially in the instrumental sections. He actually kind of pulls of 'song to the siren', by singingit restrainded.
I'm not trying to be mysterious about it, it's just that what I do is tough to explain.
-Macgyver

cmason84

He did a 6 album in 6 month ordeal back in 2004 or 2005. Those albums are by far his best work. Those albums are: The Will to Death; DC EP; Inside of Emptiness; Automatic Writing (as Ataxia, not John Frusciante); Curtains; and A sphere in the heart of Silence (a bit more electronic, but still good). All good stuff and definitely worth listening to.

nickdavies7

I'm an obsessive RHCP fan, and i am slowly getting into his solo stuff. His vocals have gone from good to amazing in the past 6-7 years. If you hear some recent live songs by the peppers, you can hear his voice beautifully. Here is a good example. Funky Monks (sidenote: they have only performed this song 4 times):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DSWpsFO3Jpw
Signatures are over rated

Come Closer