Finally....the Newbie reviews "At Dawn"

Started by Nikkogino, Aug 11, 2005, 11:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nikkogino

Okay, I have decided to give my track by track mini-review now after finally getting my copy of At Dawn.  Most of you probably don't give a shit about my review because you all love the album regardless.  I am a newbie (as I have said many times), so take that into consideration--I heard "Z" before I heard "At Dawn."  So I am coming into this having fallen in love with ISM and getting to know Z.  So this is what I think.......please give me feedback as to what is wrong/right about my perception of the song, so I can go back and see what you are saying.  By the way, I have only listened to the album about 3 times now, so some of the songs are not 'soaked in' yet.  Oh well.......here is my two cents worth.  Take it or leave it:

Scores out of (10)

1 ) At Dawn:  Great intro track, although it doesn't feel like a complete song for some reason.  The lyrics are cool, the music is cool, and for an opening track, I really liked it.  (8.0)

2 ) Lowdown:  This song has a feel to it that I just love.  I could chill to this song all day long.  "Sure nuff mood for romancin." I just love that line!!!  This is a great song, hands down, no questions asked.  (9.5)

3 ) The Way That He Sings:  This song took a couple of listens to fully absorb.  Another good "chill song."  I like the inaudible singing that sounds to me something like "but he don't run run but he don't run."  The way that he sings "the way that he sings" is very cool.  Although I like this song, I believe that it is easily overshadowed by the song before it and after it.  Shoot me!  (8.0)