My First Vinyl Record

Started by AngryEwok, Sep 17, 2006, 02:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Angry Ewok

I've been collecting old vinyl for several years - but by collecting, I really mean salvaging from my family's garbage and "inheriting" on the sly what my dad doesn't really give a shit about anymore - good music. I've scrounged in the attic, I've looked through the basement and in all of the "junk closets" - and I've found a lot of great stuff (Beatles, Cream, Hendrix, etc). It's almost an Indiana Jones-esque moment, blowing a thick layer of dust off of a jacket sleeve to realize, "Holy shit, my dad used to listen to good stuff..."

Despite my love for vinyl, I've never actually bought a vinyl record until yesterday evening. So this was a big deal, to me.

I walked into Oz Music to go ahead and get them to put a copy of the OKONOKOS CD on hold for me, when I noticed a rack of NEW Vinyl in the back. I flipped through a lot of stuff, mostly just enjoying the artwork, and then I saw THREE My Morning Jacket Vinyl's...

Acoustic Citsuoca, It Still Moves, and Z. I cradled each of them, knowing with my lack of cash that I would end up having to choose one and only one.

I decided to get an album that I'd be able to pass along to my son or daughter, if I ever had one - something that'd sort of introduce my kid not only to the idea that I may have actually been a cool dude and had good taste back in the day, but also to introduce the kid to one of the greatest bands of my time. To me, Acoustic Citsuoca was the perfect album for that purpose.

So I bought myself an early birthday present.