Help - I'm new to My Morning Jacket

Started by marky, Jul 11, 2008, 07:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Marky

I saw MMJ at the Hop Farm and thought that they were great.  I had earlier heard their new single on the radio a few times which I love also - I bought the new album earlier in the week and love it.  The question is, where do I go from here?  What album should I puchase next?  I saw the double live album in a local store for £6 - is that worth getting?

Grateful for any advice you can give.

TheBigChicken

The live album is excellent. I enjoy the album "Z". Hell,  get em all ! :) Oh and by the way....WELCOME TO THE BOARD ;)
the fruit bats love makin' made all the kids cry

ycartrob

aslongasukeepa

okonos the double live album is GREAT way to get introduced to the band, the DVD as well.  Each album has its own flavor to it, the first two albums are a bit more mellow than the past 3.
"put away your corset, put away your shoes, put away those old September blues"

weeniebeenie

Okonokos. It is one of the best live albums ever!!!!!
How loud can silence get?

Angry Ewok

My tip...

Go out, buy Okonokos... it's basically a LIVE greatest hits. After a little while, take a look at your favorite songs and find out what album they belong to... then buy that album. And so forth and so on.

Or you could buy Tennessee Fire and Z, they're polar opposites, so they'll keep you on your toes.
--- and that's 2 real 4 u.

megalicious

welcome, new fan!

in order to expand your mmj love, i'd suggest getting okonokos. it's a good "sampler," which will expose you to more of their tunes.

then...

buy all the albums and ep's you can get your hands on, b/c it's all good!  :)
all facts begin as dreams dreamt by the wizard

Bigsky