Jim James Acoustic Guitar

Started by ktm293, Mar 20, 2008, 11:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ktm293

Does Jim use a Gibson CJ-165?

BH

I thought it was a takamine, but I'm no expert.   Somebody here will confirm shortly I'm sure.
I'm digging, digging deep in myself, but who needs a shovel when you have a little boy like mine.

EC

i think he uses a couple (or six).
do you mean the one with the hologram stickers?  that one's a gibson.
and i think there's another gibson.
and there might have been a takamine in the mix on occasion.

i believe that jim james currently uses over 97 guitars, so it's hard to tell...
;)

EC

if you go to the gallery section, there's the rudyard kipling show, which there is def a gibson jumbo.  then if you go to the austin city limits fest pics (aka what the hell were those girls with the pineapples on stage for) it looks like a j-45 to me, but i'm not sure.

can't find any of the hologram ones anywhere immediately, but i'll look more.

edit: on 2nd thought, i take back the j-45 comment.  i think the austin show might've been the jumbo body, too.

so in answer to your question, ktm293, i think the answer is yes, but it's not the only one he uses.

2nd edit: bh, you're right - the hologram guitar is a takamine.  there's a good pic of it from the exit/inn show in 2004 - http://www.mymorningjacket.com/Gallery/2004/20040620.html

jeeez i just got a little misty going through some of those photos from shows i've been too.  what great memories. :)  what amazing people i've met.

aMD

the takamine is the one he writes the majority of his songs on, or at least he used to.

Angry Ewok

Seems like a table or clipboard would be a much better surface for that, but whatever.
--- and that's 2 real 4 u.

BH

Yeah, I'll bet he's starting to run out of space.  Unless maybe he's using a pencil and eraser.
I'm digging, digging deep in myself, but who needs a shovel when you have a little boy like mine.

Angry Ewok