Current Joys

Started by ycartrob, Aug 22, 2006, 12:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

capt. scotty

QuoteI bought an assault rifle on the fourth of July...  :'(  God bless America!
Really. Why ? Just curious. My friends use to own AK 47's. Never really understood the fascination. Is it a collectors thing or maybe the allure of an assault rifle. What can you hunt with a assault rifle besides people ? :-/

why couldnt you hunt deer with an assault rifle if you have a hunting license?
ummm, there were be some serious damage I would expect? Since I detest guns, I'm no expert. Plus I think you can only hunt with certain gauges/ammo for fear that missed shots are going to end up somewhere they shouldn't

I dont think assualt rifle cartridges are much bigger, if at all, than 306 rifle, which are a popular hunting rifle.

I think assualt rifles are considered more deadly because theyre an automatic weapon, not because theyre more damaging/destructive. I wouldnt be surprised if you couldnt hunt with them, but IMO that would be more because of a legality issue than assualt rifles being so much more deadly.
The thing is, Bob, it's not that I'm lazy, it's that I just don't care. - Peter Gibbons

Angry Ewok

QuoteReally. Why ? Just curious. My friends use to own AK 47's. Never really understood the fascination. Is it a collectors thing or maybe the allure of an assault rifle.

For me it's a hobby. I'm a marksman, I love going to the range and plinking stuff. There's just something cool about putting a soda can out at a distance and seeing if you can hit it with the naked eye.

QuoteWhat can you hunt with a assault rifle besides people ? :-/